AgriTech Incubator

The AgriTech Incubator, led by Professor John Mawson, is the third of the Multi-Regional Hub Program to be launched by Charles Sturt University (CSU).

The Incubator has been funded by a grant from the Boosting Business Innovation program of NSW Department of Industry, supported by additional funding from the University, and complements the CenWest Innovate accelerator in Bathurst and the Walan Mayinygu Indigenous Entrepreneurship Pop Up Hub.

The AgriTech Incubator aims to spark innovation and economic development in the Riverina-Murray region by supporting the development of start-up companies and facilitating innovation within small- to medium-sized enterprises (SME) by providing access to University expertise and facilities. A program of gender equity initiatives dedicated to improving women's participation in 'tech' will also be delivered. The AgriTech Incubator specifically encourages start-ups seeking to leverage new technologies from 'farm to fork' but is open to participation by any 'tech-enabled' regional start-up.

The second AgriTech Incubator program commenced on 5 February 2018 and concluded on 26 March 2018 with eight participants pitching their business ideas to the attending audience. The participant’s business ideas ranged from the development of apps and software platforms that support producers and agricultural suppliers, and developing new food products to diversify farming income, to a financial support service and new methods for enhancing travelers health.

Code Club Australia will be delivering two coding events at the AgriTech Incubator to female High School students in the region. The first event was held in November 2017, with the second event being held in May 2018 with over 90 local female High School students signed up to attend the event. The AgriTech Incubator is also pleased to be offering a one-day Teacher Training workshop delivered by Code Club Australia for local High School teachers in the region. This event will also be delivered in May and has ‘sold’ out.

Based in the refurbished Building 6 on the Wagga Wagga campus, the Incubator is now available for use as a co-working and event space.

Please contact project officer Siobhain Howard if you are interested in this opportunity.

For further information email the AgriTech Incubator -

Cover: AgriTech Incubator lead, Professor John Mawson.

NSW Department of Industry, AgriTech Incubator, Charles Sturt University